Support row2k!
Advertiser Index

Six Crews Named to 2009 US World Championship Team
July 29, 2009
source: USRowing

The six camp-selected boats that will represent the United States at the 2009 World Rowing Championships August 23-30 in Poznan, Poland, have been named, USRowing announced on Wednesday.

Competing in the men's eight will be coxswain Ned DelGuercio (Media, Pa.), Grant James (DeKalb, Ill.), Ross James (DeKalb, Ill.), Tyler Winklevoss (Greenwich, Conn.), Jake Cornelius (Brooktondale, N.Y.), Steve Kasprzyk (Cinnaminson, N.J.), Alex Osborne (Sherman Oaks, Calif.), Michael Holbrook (Madison, Wis.) and Beau Hoopman (Plymouth, Wis.). A two-time Olympian in the men's eight, Hoopman won bronze in Beijing and gold at the 2004 Olympic Games in Athens. Winklevoss was a member of the men's pair that finished sixth at the 2008 Olympic Games. James, James and Osborne were members of the Under 23 national team in 2008, while DelGuercio won gold in the lightweight men's eight at the 2008 World Rowing Senior and Junior Championships.

Coxswain Katelin Snyder (Winter Park, Fla.), Caroline Lind (Greensboro, N.C.), Susan Francia (Abington, Pa.), Anna Goodale (Camden, Maine), Lindsay Shoop (Charlottesville, Va.), Kady Glessner (Seattle, Wash.), Laura Larsen-Strecker (Brookline, Mass.), Erin Cafaro (Modesto, Calif.) and Mara Allen (San Francisco, Calif.) will compete in the women's eight. Five Beijing gold-medalists return to the lineup including Lind, Francia, Goodale, Shoop and Cafaro, while Snyder, Glessner and Larsen-Strecker won gold in the women's eight at the 2008 World Rowing Under 23 Championships.

Four 2008 Olympians return to compete in the men's four. Brett Newlin (Riverton, Wyo.) and Giuseppe Lanzone (Annandale, Va.) return from the men's four that finished ninth in Beijing, while Steve Coppola (Buffalo, N.Y.) was a member of the men's eight and Cameron Winklevoss (Greenwich, Conn.) competed in the men's pair.

Will Daly (Vail, Colo.), Brian de Regt (Rowayton, Conn.), Nick LaCava (Weston, Conn.) and Taylor Washburn (Andover, Mass.) will compete in the lightweight men's four. Daly returns from the 2008 Olympic boat, while de Regt, LaCava and Washburn are first-time senior national team members.

Glenn Ochal (Philadelphia, Pa.), Will Miller (Duxbury, Mass.), Sam Stitt (McLean, Va.) and Elliot Hovey (Manchester-By-The-Sea, Mass.) will compete in the men's quadruple sculls. Stitt raced in the boat at the 2008 Olympic Games, while Hovey was a member of the men's double sculls in Beijing.

Kate Bertko (Oakland, Calif.), Sarah Trowbridge (Guilford, Conn.), Stesha Carle (Long Beach, Calif.) and Megan Walsh (Charlotte, N.C.) will race in the women's quadruple sculls. Carle and Trowbridge won silver in the four at the 2008 World Rowing Senior and Junior Championships.

The women’s double sculls duo of Ellen Tomek (Flushing, Mich.) and Megan Kalmoe (St. Croix Falls, Wis.) was named to the team in mid-July. The rest of the senior national team squad including the men’s adaptive single sculls, women’s adaptive single sculls, mixed adaptive double sculls, men’s single sculls, women’s single sculls, lightweight men’s single sculls, lightweight women’s single sculls, men’s pair, women’s pair, lightweight men’s pair, men’s pair with coxswain, men’s double sculls, lightweight men’s double sculls, lightweight women’s double sculls, lightweight men’s quadruple sculls, lightweight women’s quadruple sculls, women’s four and lightweight men’s eight will be named at the conclusion of trials August 3-8.