row2k Features
National Rowing Hall of Fame Adds 26 New Members
April 28, 2016
Ed Hewitt,

The 2016 Hall of Fame class

The National Rowing Hall of Fame grew by 26 members last weekend as the National Rowing Foundation held a ceremony the night before the Olympic trials finals on Saturday, April 23. Including 24 athletes from six different crews along with two patrons, Joanne Wright Iverson and Dr. Tim Hosea, the ubiquitous team doc who passed away suddenly last fall.

Five of the six inducted crews were celebrating important anniversaries, with the 1976 Olympic bronze medalist women's eight and Olympic Silver medalist men's pair having reached the 40-year mark since their race, and the 1996 silver medal men's quad and light women's double and bronze medalist light men's four celebrating a 20 year anniversary.

Joanne Wright Iverson could not attend due to being unable to travel at the time, while Tim Hosea's wife Libet and daughters Hadley and Kirby were on hand to see Tim inducted. The audience of over 160 included a number of past inductees, and featured an exceptional number of Wisco grads in the house, who were joined by Madison native (and Penn grad) Sarah Garner for a Wisco group photo.

The following day, a number of the inductees made another trip to the podium to present awards to the trials winners, including IOC member Anita DeFrantz, who is a regular among the medals presenters at Worlds and the Olympics.

"Through their Olympic and world championship performances or extraordinary contributions, the men and women to be honored meet or exceed the highest standard for athleticism, tenacity, commitment and devotion to—and success in—our sport," said Charles Hamlin, Executive Director of the NRF.

The 2016 Hall of Fame inductees:

Joanne Wright Iverson, Patron:
For her lifelong leadership and tireless advocacy for women's rowing, the NRF will induct Joanne Iverson. Founder of the National Women's Rowing Association in 1963; prime mover in securing the inclusion of women in the Olympic Games; and manager of the first women's Olympic team in 1976, Joanne has been a tireless and successful advocate for women's rowing.

The 1976 Olympic Bronze Medal Women's Eight:
Comprising Carol Brown, Anne Warner, Carie Graves, Lynn Silliman Reed, Gail Ricketson Helfer, Peggy McCarthy Bailey, Jackie Zoch Major, Marion Greig, Anita DeFrantz and coach Harry Parker, this women's eight was the first women's crew to compete for the U.S. at the Olympic Games, win a medal and set the stage for the United States' success in women's rowing at the world championships and Olympic Games.

1976 US women's eight
The 1976 Olympic Silver Medal, Men's Coxless Pair:
Calvin Coffey and Michael Staines, cut from the U.S. team, but undaunted, won the U.S. Olympic Trials and stunned the rowing world with a silver medal against the undefeated East Germans. "Cal" continues his winning ways albeit through the success of his daughter, Olivia, who stroked the U.S. women's quad to an upset victory over Germany at the 2015 World Championships and is a contender for the 2016 U.S. Olympic Team.

1976 US men's pair, Lindsay Barbier of the 1996 US light women's double, the 2000 US light women's double
The 1996 Olympic Silver Medal Men's Quadruple Sculls:
In an event dominated by European scullers and never won by an American crew, the U.S. quad comprising Jason Gailes, Brian Jamieson, Eric Mueller and Timothy Young shattered the precedent to win a silver medal in the 1996 Olympic Games in Atlanta and to reinvigorate sculling in the U.S.

1996 US men's quad
The 1996 Olympic Bronze Medal Lightweight Men's Coxless Four:
The crew of David Collins, Jeffrey Pfaendtner, Marcus Schneider and Bill Carlucci raced to a bronze medal finish and established the U.S. as a full international contender in lightweight rowing.

1996 US light men's four

The 1996 Olympic Silver Medal Lightweight Women's Double Sculls:
Teresa Z. Bell and Lindsey Burns individually dominated lightweight sculling in the early 1990s. In 1996, they joined forces to win Olympic trials and to go on to take the silver medal at the inaugural lightweight women's double event at the 1996 Olympic Games in Atlanta.

The 2000 Olympic Bronze Medal Lightweight Women's Double Sculls:
The crew of Christine Smith Collins and Sarah Garner Wolf dominated the lightweight women's double sculls in the latter half of the 1990s, overcame injury and sickness to win the U.S. Olympic Trials and take the bronze medal at the 2000 Olympic Games in Sydney.

Dr. Timothy Hosea, Patron:
Through his love of rowing and its athletes, and his deep sense of duty and contribution, Tim Hosea served the rowing community in many ways: national team doctor for decades, president of the Princeton National Rowing Association, Director of the NRF and Olympic physician for multiple teams. Tim was simply a superlative individual whom the rowing community revered. Few have given more to the rowing community; he will be honored posthumously for his service.

The National Rowing Foundation
Since 1966, the mission of the National Rowing Foundation has been to support the preparation, selection and participation of the U.S.'s national rowing teams in international competition. In addition, the NRF manages the National Rowing Hall of Fame and curates and maintains much of the memorabilia of rowing. The NRF is a 501c3 non-profit organization headquartered in North Stonington, Connecticut. For additional information: contact Mara Keggi Ford at (203) 525-6566 or email mara (at)


Log in to comment
04/29/2016  8:59:47 PM
Wow! Congrats Bill! Plenty of folks and bankers waiting to hear from you back in Trenton!

Get our Newsletter!
Enter your email address to receive our updates!
Support row2k!
If you rely on row2k, please support row2k!

Get Social with row2k!

row2k rowing store!

Get our Newsletter!
Enter your email address to receive our updates!

Support row2k!
If you rely on row2k, please support row2k!

Advertiser Index
Advertise on row2k