Support row2k!
Advertiser Index

USRowing Announces Olympic Men's Four Lineup
June 4, 2012
source: USRowing

Cole, Gault, and Rummel racing at NSR I

PRINCETON, N.J. - USRowing is pleased to announce the men's four that will represent the United States at the 2012 Olympic Games in Eton Dorney, Great Britain, pending final approval from the United States Olympic Committee.

The lineup includes Scott Gault (Piedmont, Calif.), Charlie Cole (New Canaan, Conn.), Henrik Rummel (Pittsford, N.Y.) and Glenn Ochal (Philadelphia, Pa.).

Gault, a returning 2008 Olympian, finished fifth in men's quadruple sculls in Beijing. He and Cole were members of the men's four that qualified the boat for London with its fourth-place finish at the 2011 World Rowing Championships. Rummel competed in the men's eight and Ochal in the men's quadruple sculls at last year's world championships.

"We have been training in this combination for a little while, but to be named to the Olympic team is a huge honor and one we are very excited about," said Cole, a nine-time national team member and Yale University alum.

Selection for the men's four was determined based on lineup evaluations, national selection regatta results and training camp performance in Chula Vista, Calif., under U.S. men's coach Tim McLaren.

In total, twelve crews will represent the United States at the 2012 Olympic Games. Three boat classes - the men's single sculls, men's pair and women's pair - will be contested June 11-14 at the 2012 Olympic Trials - Rowing in West Windsor, N.J. The remaining three crews - the women's eight and men's and women's quadruple sculls - will be named on June 22.

Currently, the following athletes have been named to the 2012 Olympic Rowing Team:

Women's Single Sculls
-Gevvie Stone

Lightweight Women's Double Sculls
-Julie Nichols
-Kristin Hedstrom

Women's Double Sculls
-Margot Shumway
-Sarah Trowbridge

Lightweight Men's Four
-Robin Prendes
-Nick LaCava
-Will Newell
-Anthony Fahden

Men's Four
-Scott Gault
-Charlie Cole
-Henrik Rummel
-Glenn Ochal

Men's Eight
-Zach Vlahos
-Grant James
-David Banks
-Steve Kasprzyk
-Jake Cornelius
-Brett Newlin
-Ross James
-Will Miller
-Giuseppe Lanzone